Catholic School Award Recipients Announced
January 07, 2023

Catholic School Award Recipients Announced

Dear Friends in Ministry,

It is with great joy that the Catholic School Office and the Albany Diocesan School Board announces the recipients of this year’s Catholic School Awards!

We look forward to welcoming our distinguished honorees, their guests, and members of our school community to this year’s Liturgy on Friday, January 27, 2023. While our event has traditionally been held at the Cathedral, new this year, we are taking our celebration on the road. Mass will begin at 9:30 a.m. at St. Mary’s Church of Ballston Spa, led by principal celebrant the Most Rev. Edward B. Scharfenberger.

Although the mass is open to the public, it will also be live-streamed and held on a weekday so all teachers, students, and families across the Diocese can participate virtually. At the conclusion of the liturgical celebration, the distinguished honorees and years of service award recipients will be recognized at St. Mary’s Church. (See complete list of award recipients following this message.)

In closing, let us rejoice in the good works of all who are dedicated to Catholic education. We look forward to this most special time together in recognition of Catholic schools.

Congratulations and continued blessings to all!

Giovanni Virgiglio, Ed.D.
Superintendent of Schools

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Catholic School Awardees

The Bishop of Albany Distinguished Administrator Award
Lynn Fitzgerald, St. Mary’s School, Ballston Spa

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Distinguished Elementary School Teacher Award
Cara Green, St. Mary’s School, Waterford

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Distinguished Secondary School Teacher Award
Mary Beth Amato, Holy Spirit School, East Greenbush

St. Thomas Aquinas Distinguished School Staff Award
Janet MacLasco, Sacred Heart School, Troy

Mother Frances Cabrini Distinguished School Support Award
Tillman Nechtman, St. Clement’s Regional Catholic School, Saratoga Springs

St. John Neumann Award for Commitment to Catholic Education
Ernest Casile, St. Mary’s Institute, Amsterdam

Albany Diocesan School Board Community Partner Award
Jack Aernecke, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons, Schenectady

Service Awards

25 Years of Service

Dawn Kristiansen, Holy Spirit School, East Greenbush

Susan Silverstein, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons School, Schenectady

Erin View, St. Francis de Sales Early Childhood Center, Herkimer

Francesca Halayko, St. Pius X School, Loudonville

Rossana Whatley, St. Pius X School, Loudonville 

30 Years of Service

Margaret Clohessy, St. Mary’s St. Alphonsus Regional School, Glens Falls

Deana O’Toole, St. Clement’s Regional Catholic School, Saratoga Springs

35 Years of Service

Denise O’Connor, St. Kateri Tekakwitha Parish School, Schenectady

Kimberly Miller, St. Thomas the Apostle School, Delmar

40 Years of Service

Dorothy Schutter, Saratoga Central Catholic School, Saratoga Springs

Catholic School Awardees 2022-2023.pdf

Are you interested in giving your child a

Higher Powered Education?

Explore Our Schools